Conquer the Web

We Test, Synthesize and Share the Latest Internet Marketing Tactics and Strategies to Help You Better Run Your Online Business

FaceUBook.com — Facebook’s evil twin

October 18th, 2008 by Vishen Lakhiani Read more about Facebook, Social Media

I got a mes­sage from a friend of mine on Face­book. The mes­sage told me to check out a par­tic­u­lar blog on AOL. I clicked on a link and ended up briefly on the AOL blog site…

…but then that page refreshed and I saw this.

Why would Face­book be ask­ing me to reen­ter my password?

I glanced the URL bar and this is what I saw:

it wasn’t Facebook.com. It was FaceuBook.com!

It turns out this was a phish­ing site. It fools users into re-entering their Face­book user­name and pass­word. It then sends mes­sages to every­one in your Friends list ask­ing them to check out a par­tic­u­lar blog.

When they do, the process repeats itself.

In addi­tion to caus­ing a lot of embar­rass­ment and has­sle to your friends, the jerk behind this scam also gets access to all your per­sonal info.

I hope Facebook.com takes some action against FaceUBook.com, shuts down this domain and fig­ures out how to keep these scams from affect­ing inno­cent users.

In the mean­time, when enter­ing pass­words on sites like Face­book, Pay­Pal etc, don’t for­get to check your address bar to make sure you’re on the legit site.

Last 5 posts by

About the Author

Vishen Lakhiani Vishen is a co-founder of MindValley. Before MindValley, he was an exec in Silicon Valley and New York for several internet and technology firms. He turned bedroom entrepreneur at 27 and by the time he was 31 had founded 6 web businesses and never had to work a conventional job again.

Check out other posts by Vishen Lakhiani

If you want to see what's in the private lab...

Ask yourself... which part of your business would you most like to improve?

I can send you 7 tactics related to your specific needs, if you like.

You don't have to buy anything, just take it as a backstage pass into our private course.

Will it give you the solution you've been waiting for?

There's only one way to find out.

This website uses IntenseDebate comments, but they are not currently loaded because either your browser doesn't support JavaScript, or they didn't load fast enough.

6 Responses to “FaceUBook.com — Facebook’s evil twin”

  1. Julia

    omg i got that
    andi go to my friend

    why the heck didi t bring me there???

    and she signed off…

    so its a hacker thing right?

    i didnt put my stuff in but if i did wat would of happened?

  2. Jessica

    Thank you so much! I almost fell into that trap, but luck­ily I was sus­pi­cious when the site redi­rected itself. I noticed that it was Faceubook.com, and I am so glad I did! I also told all my friends about it, so hope­fully they won’t fall into that trap as well.
    PS-I also think that it does more than just send out auto­matic mes­sages to all your friends, because I also got an IM from the per­son that sent me the orig­i­nal mes­sage say­ing some­thing about a Macy’s giftcard.

  3. Warning - Dodgy Facebook Clone | Shane Jones Life, Times and Workings

    […] found out from this post at Mind Val­ley Labs of a really nasty phish­ing web­site that clones the login page for Face­book. The site will show the […]

  4. Brands Bring Confidence to Facebook Connect | Jamie Scheu

    […] a cru­cial role for brands in ulti­mately val­i­dat­ing the plat­form. Â With phish­ing sites like “Faceu­book” already pop­ping up, it will take con­sumer trust in brands to per­mit Face­book Connect’s […]

  5. clickkt.com

    Thank you
    http://clickkt.com
    Money maker online

  6. Azam

    Great info. I didn’t receive any­thing like this yet. At least now that I know about it, I can avoid it and inform my friends. Thanks.

Leave a Reply